RE5RO5A/P0717

Post Reply
aamco25870
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:29 pm
First Name: Jon
Last Name: Mitchell
Other:

RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by aamco25870 » Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:48 pm

Rebuild RE5RO5A with banner, band, valve body (Nissan dealer), precision torque converter and bypassed radiator cooler and had valve body initialized by Nissan dealer. Vehicle returned in 2 days with dtc P0717-turbine revolution sensor malfunction. Cleared dtc and roadtested, vehicle worked fine, (including engine rpm and turbine rpm being the same), except tcc slip would jump from 0 to 560. After 6 stop and goes, dtc returned, lost 5th and lockup, turbine rpm stays stuck @ 576 rpm (even at a complete stop) and tcc slip would stay at 240 - 260 slip while driving. Do you think this a defect initialization of tcm, input shaft, or electric problem

xtr366
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:58 pm
First Name: tony
Last Name: nicoletti
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by xtr366 » Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:22 am

I have the same issue right now with same reading. Did you guys find the issue?

Please let me know if pulled unit out 2 times rechecked everything and air checked unit several times.

Please any help would be appreciated

Thank you

Bryan
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:21 pm
First Name: Bryan
Last Name: B
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by Bryan » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:18 pm

I had a problem similar to this once. I don't remember the code it set or the speed sensor malfunction it had because it was several years ago. The band was partially blocking the speed sensor hole under the valve body. It's very common for it to fall down if you assemble with the bell housing facing up before you adjust the band.

xtr366
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:58 pm
First Name: tony
Last Name: nicoletti
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by xtr366 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:41 pm

Can this be fixed without pulled out?

Bryan
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 6:21 pm
First Name: Bryan
Last Name: B
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by Bryan » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:35 pm

Yes. Pull the valve body and look carefully to see if it's actually hanging in the Speed Sensor hole. If it is, move the band forward with a pick.. Readjust the band and reinstall the valve body.

xtr366
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:58 pm
First Name: tony
Last Name: nicoletti
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by xtr366 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:29 pm

Ok I'll try this. We sent the vehicle to Nissan for a reflash .I do not recall looking to see if the band was in the way of the hole ? We have repaired 7 glycol damages in the past this one's really kicking my butt.

I'll keep you guys posted. Wish I looked at it better when I had vb out the 3 times.

xtr366
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:58 pm
First Name: tony
Last Name: nicoletti
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by xtr366 » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:19 am

Well looked through the whole trans again. I can't believe Nissan Canada won't warranty this valvebody. It's definitely tcm issue. Anyone know where I can get another tcm hitachi without going through Nissan at 1800 a pop. ? I will even send out tcm for repair if that's possible .

Code p0717 , and no 5th gear shift unless I force it on scan tool.

Vb and tcm only 6 months ago from Nissan .

Sorry guys I'd even try a used one!!!!

actiontrans
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 1:47 pm
First Name: kris
Last Name: sidbury
Other:
Location: jacksonville,florida

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by actiontrans » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:08 pm

you can buy remans plug and play from transtar now. if they dont have the one for your vehicle you can send the original out for them to build. we have used 2 so far and worked out well.

xtr366
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:58 pm
First Name: tony
Last Name: nicoletti
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by xtr366 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:58 pm

Really ??
Why does my Kom in Canada not know. I'll call them in the morning.

Thank you!

xtr366
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:58 pm
First Name: tony
Last Name: nicoletti
Other:

Re: RE5RO5A/P0717

Post by xtr366 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:56 pm

Just updating.

Put a new tcm in 2400 bones later no more codes .

Nightmare.

Next rebuild is including tcm vb and soft rebuild with a converter.... then reflash . I doubt any customer will want it rebuilt next time.

. Thanks for helping guys.all fixed

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest